Ode to Bluebone

Dear 2017, 

Welcome back to Dark Skin & Mangos! Grab a pen and a notebook, doesn’t matter what kind or how big or small.  It’s time to guarantee things in 2017.

2017 has barely started and we have already witnessed the L takers. But, we are not going to be taken those Ls (unless it’s a L we have to take, because you know the spring semester is about to start.)

2017…. Hey Big Head.

I have already proclaimed 2017 as my year to finally understand myself as a person and as a growing BEAUTIFUL black woman. It’s going to be hard, but I will make it through. I personally wrote all my wants, needs, and goals down in a notebook and already started to check off a couple of things that I am completing.

  • Get my first novel published by December of 2017
  • Exercise more
  • Drink more water
  • Create healthy relationships
  • Budget money better
  • Get rid of negativity/toxic friends, relationships, and people
  • Care for Karen first/speak my mind
  • Increase self-esteem and self love
  • Make my mom and older sister proud
  • Get nothing lower than a 3.2 GPA

I’ve already started trying to complete some of the items I just told you guys. I said get rid of negativity and toxic people in general.

Issa L.

But instead, I went backwards. I decided to befriend my ex-boyfriend because I missed him as a friend. (I’ll tell you guys all about him later in the blog) Now, I am stuck with my feelings in a whole ball and even though he has “GOOD INTENTIONS”, (to this day even though we talked about it, I’ll never know what he was truly thinking and feeling) that does not necessarily mean he is a non-toxic person in my life.

I have been drinking more water by disciplining myself because I drink a lot of sugary drinks. Like if I drink water for a whole week, I can have one can of Sprite, Fanta Orange, Ginger Ale, or Lemonade. When I get back on campus, I’ll only keep cranberry juice and water in my room. I can’t live without my cranberry juice.

Out of all my goals, to be completely honest, the hardest goal for me to reach is probably getting rid of toxic people and relationships. I am a really kind person; I always seen the good in people no matter what they have done to me. It’s hard for me to speak up for myself or say no to people sometimes. No longer. I need to make sure I got my back before anyone else does.

Give my posts a like and maybe a comment. Talk to you guys later on my next post.
Follow me on Twitter: karen_lucrece, Instagram: karen_lucrece, and add me on Snapchat: karen_lucrece.

 

Leave a Reply

