“Do you talk to someone?”

Dating in the 21st Century

Hey guys, it’s your girl Bluebone and welcome to Dark Skin & Mangos. I’m going to tell you guys something that I am really irritated with in this generation.

DATING & OBTAINING A RELATIONSHIP.

A couple of things about dating and obtaining a relationship this day in age irritates me. But, I’ll speak about it one at a time. Supposedly there is this ‘talking’ stage before getting into a relationship. So, these are the stages are:

  1. The DM approach
  2. Talking Stage
  3. Relationship
  4. Problems within the relationship
  5. Break-up and start rapping on social media

First of all, what is ‘talking’? This pisses me off so much, because what are we talking about?!

Talking is a present tense verb.
Present tense means I am currently doing something.
Verb means action.
Action means I am performing something.

So, what does this mean? Talking means I am having a conversation with one or more people. Look. A guy is not going to approach me, saying “Excuse me, (insert compliment here) and I would like to talk to you.”

Any boy that tells me that, I will look you dead in your face, smile, and tell you that you are talking to me at the moment. You are having a conversation with me. We are talking to each other right this moment. Say that you would like to get to know me, not talk to me.

This whole ‘talking’ stage is where girls and guys get their feelings hurt because THERE IS NO DEFINITION OF ‘TALKING’. Every time I ask someone the define it, they just say “We talking.”

Since there is no definition of talking stage, there’s no real place of where the “relationship” lies. One party thinks they are in a relationship, while the other is out around ‘talking’ to other people.

Like what happened with dating? What happened with courting? What is going on with this generation that social media defines everything in a relationship?

Small secret, I’m 18 years old turning 19 in July and I have not been on a date before. Like ever. I never had a guy take me out, one on one, he pays, and we have a good time. Not a day in my life. If I went out with a guy, I always paid for myself or on some occasions paid for him and myself.

Especially when people give praise to something a girl and a guy does WITHIN THE RELATIONSHIP.

“I’ve always been faithful to my boyfriend/girlfriend for X amount of years.”
Someone then quotes, “Yes! Where are all these boys/girls are?”
Why should I praise you for something that you’re supposed to do? If you really care about that woman/man, it is not hard to remain faithful! It’s common sense.

I am happy with being single and waiting for a guy that is willing to date me. I am not saying that to reject every guy that tries to approach you through the DMs, but don’t jump into a relationship after texting for a couple of days!

Go on dates, take your time to know me, my struggles, my views, my feelings. Don’t jump to the conclusion that I am going to be in a relationship with you after a couple of goo-goo ga-ga conversations.

Comment and let me know what you think.

One thought on ““Do you talk to someone?”

  1. Nisa says:

    I think the talking stage is not only invented through social media, but also because it all began in maybe late middle school, when “dating” was a pretty mature word. I think because we were so young, and still are pretty young, actually dating is a major step, especially since most of our minds are pretty immature.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

